True 500HRC Treadmill (ME62T controller) no power to motor

Giomonte

Joined Jun 26, 2020
2 questions: motor and controller

Controller:
Before removing motor and controller, I confirmed that display works, can enter calibration mode, lift motor works, PWM signal LED lights, and did not visually find anything broken or discolored on the board . However MTR (motor) LED does not light. Removed board, attached PWM signal generator (have done this before), and attached good motor: nothing. I'm new to electronics. Does this suggest to anyone the problem, or a short list of likely failed components?

Motor:
Removed motor from treadmill. Tried to connect it to 12V car battery, but sparked strongly at battery (shorted?). It turns by hand with more than normal resistance. Actually, 1/2 turn is normal, 1/2 is resistant. Opened motor; bearings are good (possibly replaced once---rubber seals); no visual discoloring of windings; brushes nearly new; motor clean and unscratched; did not find short between rotor at stator. Does this suggest to anyone the likely problem? Thank you.

Attachments

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Not familiar with that controller, but normally there should be no problem connecting to an automotive battery.
Did it attempt to turn? You might see a spark when you connect, but after that it should spin up OK.
The typical motor normally spins easily by hand and no resistance unless you short the leads together while spinning.
Max.

Giomonte

Joined Jun 26, 2020
To be more clear, I could not connect and hold motor leads to battery; violent spark; battery sparked as when touching battery leads directly together. Motor "attempted" turn 1-2 degrees. By hand, motor turns easily for 1/2 turn, stiffly for second 1/2 turn, more stiff than with shorted leads together on the same type (working) motor. Thanks.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Sounds very much like you have a dud motor!