Thyristor variable power supply

coinmaster

Joined Dec 24, 2015
I want to make a variable power supply using a thyristor full wave rectifier bridge into a capacitor filter into some sort of regulator but I'm not totally sure how to go about it, in large part due to the fact I'm new to thyristors and I can't get LTspice to simulate a thyristor model properly.
Can someone give me an example of such a supply? At least the variable rectifier bridge >capacitor part. I would greatly appreciate it.
I intend for the power supply to run at a bit over 2 amps DC with 6 amp AC peaks with an output between 250v and 25v.
Thanks in advance.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
You may realize that your circuit needs transformer isolation for the safety of the circuit and you.

Your topology should be similar to a buck converter. Insert a large inductor (value depends on how much current it will handle and how much smoothing you need) between the output of the bridge and the filter capacitor. A freewheeling diode from the output of the bridge to common would catch any back EMF from the inductor as the thyristor(s) turn off. The inductor is needed otherwise the circuit's range of adjustment would be impaired be cause a bridge directly into a capacitor is a peak detector.

Surprisingly I could not locate a schematic of this circuit using SCRs or Thriacs on the web. Maybe this is not a popular technique. I used the technique twice about 30 years ago, but high powered off-line switchers were more expensive and delicate than they are today. Be prepared to use a lot or iron and copper in the transformer and choke. If you go to a higher frequency you can use a MOSFET and follow an existing off-line switcher design.

upload_2016-12-16_12-34-24.png
Just substitute your triac or SCR circuit along with the rectification in place of TR1.

coinmaster

Joined Dec 24, 2015