Theory question: parallel breakers, do they add up?

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
Years ago I worked for a major commercial aircraft manufacturer. As a test tech I saw a guy with four circuit breakers all wired in parallel. One was a 2 amp breaker, the second was 3A and the third was 5A and fourth, 10A. He claimed he could select a variety of amperages all based on which breakers he had switched in. "Suppose you need 7A" he said. " Push in the 5A and 2A and you had 7 amps of capability." In theory he could select 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 amps, depending on the circuit he needed to test and protect while testing. I don't know why this suddenly came to mind, but is this actually possible? Suppose you're set for 7A and you run a 7A circuit. Wouldn't the 2A breaker pop?

If I had some breakers I could test to see for myself, but I thought this might be an interesting topic to discuss.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
There is more to this than amps. There is also trip time. How fast is the breaker.

I worked in a lab once with its own panel. When I had a serious short the 100A main breaker popped and the small 20A breaker would not have enough time to trip. (breakers in series) Under a 1000+ amp short, the response time is most critical.

Under a 200% or 150% over current case, response time is still a factor.

In the case of parallel breakers and fuses, we don't really know if the current shares correctly. In the case where all breakers are the same model number and same current, I think two 5A breakers will share current. A 1A and a 10A in parallel, there is a hope that most of the current will pass through the 10A and only 9% will pass in the 1A but that is not certain. If the breakers are from different manufactures then correct sharing is not certain!

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015