Struggling to understand a 5 band resistor

diesalweasel

Joined Aug 28, 2010
Hi need some help here i have a resistor on me the colour as followed Orange Orange black and silver and brown at very end
So it my under standing is 330x0.01 = 3.3
Is this a 3,300 kohm resister . The silver band has threw me off as I'm not that good with maths

It a blue 1/4 watt resister

One thing does not make sence. I have a dm if i set it on to 200ohm the resistor shows up as 0.35
If i set the meter to 2k it shows up as .003
If i set the meter to 20k it shows 0.00

My meter is uni-t ut50c

Thanks in advance regards james

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
I am guessing that it is 0.33 ohms, 1%.

My reasoning is that 330 is 33 with no zeros following (not 330). The silver is 0.01 multiplier. Brown is 1% tolerance.

Remember that your meter probes have resistance and the connection to the resistor also has some resistance. This makes measuring small resistance values tricky. One way to reduce the error is to make a measurement with the probes shorted together and subtract that from the resistor reading.

upload_2017-9-28_11-23-51.jpeg

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Orange Orange black and silver and brown at very end
This is correct.
One thing does not make sence. I have a dm if i set it on to 200ohm the resistor shows up as 0.35

My meter is uni-t ut50c
Sounds like something wrong with the 200 ohm range. What resistance does it show for just the leads?

gerty

Joined Aug 30, 2007
It also makes a difference if you are measuring the resistor is in a circuit or not, not always, but usually.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hi need some help here i have a resistor on me the colour as followed Orange Orange black and silver and brown at very end
Is this a 3,300 kohm resister . The silver band has threw me off as I'm not that good with maths

It a blue 1/4 watt resister

If i set the meter to 20k it shows 0.00

My meter is uni-t ut50c

Thanks in advance regards james
Join the club~