Strain gauge output to serial data

sriniketh

Joined Jul 7, 2015
Hello, i am new to hardware circuit design. This can be a very simple question for many. I have a strain gauge setup whose output has to be measured in voltage and to be sent to a microcontroller unit (outside machine) out of coolant environment inside the machine. Hence i am looking for a way to convert the measured signals to a form which can be transfered through serial communication, so that voltage drop due to resistance in lengthy cables can be reduced. Can you pls suggest a set of hardware required for this conversion and pros and cons if possible

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
I had a somewhat similar setup. I had a thermocouple, it measures themperature, but the output is a few millivolts. What I did is I found a small board that was designed to work with thermocouple, this board had ic that digitized the thermocouple signal and then sent it to uC using SPI.

So the question is. Is there a product that already exists that works with your strain gauge?

If the output of strain gauge is a few volts, you can just get one of those little uC boards (Arduino Nano, Picaxe, or similar, something really small) and use onboard ADC to digitize the gauge output and use onboard uart to connect to another uC that will act as a main control.

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
I think that in this age of electronic marvels, the way to do this is first an instrumentation amplifier, then a microcontroller which will digitize the amplifier's output, and create a serial stream to be fed to the external equipment. "Voltage drop due to resistance in lengthy cables" really isn't an issue, as the current needed to carry information is very small. Other transmission-line effects could occur though; do you think you'll need differential data transmission?

drvlas

Joined Oct 16, 2015
Adding to a question about the line length.
What is the precision you want to have?
What data rate is needed?