Step-up DC to AC converter

slapwind

Joined Jan 10, 2015
Hi,

For a secret project, I am trying to convert 5 V DC from USB to a 250 V AC. I am fairly new to electronics, but I have considered op-amps, and transformers. Transformers would require me to switch DC to AC and then step-up. This seems like the easiest option out there, but I would like to know if there are any other methods to do so.

Thanks

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
And how much current do you need at 250Vac? Since USB is limited to ~2.5W, even if a step-converter was 100% efficient, the max current you could expect would be I=P/E = 2.5/250 = 0.01A or 10mA.

slapwind

Joined Jan 10, 2015
And how much current do you need at 250Vac? Since USB is limited to ~2.5W, even if a step-converter was 100% efficient, the max current you could expect would be I=P/E = 2.5/250 = 0.01A or 10mA.
I will need around 30 mA of current. I am sure I will be able to find a different power source seeing that USB won't provide the current required.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
In my books it says most USB ports are good for 1 amp so you have about 5 watts to work with.

Given that for higher loads paralleling ports together is a second option if the device has two or more ports to work with.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
If your power supply identifies itself as a telephone charger (only requires a resistor as I recall), you can legitimately get more current that 500 ma. Some hubs only monitor aggregate power to all connectors, so you have a good chance of getting more than 500 ma.

For the last several months I have been working on an project that involves generating 240 VAC/50 Hz using audio amplifier chips. This circuit does not require power but it needs the high voltage sine waves.

A couple of tips about the transformer: