Steering Control System for a 2700lb E.V.

WilliamJustin

Joined Mar 28, 2018
I was asked to look into designing and building a joystick controlled steering system for a 2700lb electric vehicle(I am mechanical engineer). I started thinking servo or stepper motor turning the shaft on the rack and pinion right away. Then I started to complicate it. I thought the tire should not only turn with the movement of the joystick but also match the velocity. I also thought if the joystick was released the tires should return to center. I know that is should be doable. I figure that I need a analog joystick, a controller/driver,a servomotor and possibly some limit switches, oh and a little programming.

Why am I posting this? I am a mechanical engineer. I'm not as smart as you electrical guys/gals. I don't want to reinvent the wheel if it is not necessary. I know that joystick systems already exist for car but they are expensive. This is a prototype vehicle. I rather not burn through the budget on this. Any recommendations on components would be greatly appreciated. If you are familiar with any user friendly controller that would work for this application, I would be delighted. I'm not great at programming but I am capable.

I would like to thank you all ahead of time. I look forward to spit balling this with you all.

I have 12V, 24V, and 48V systems as possible power supply.

DNA Robotics

Joined Jun 13, 2014
I did that one time on a giant fork lift for hauling boats. A replacement steering gear was no longer available so I used the existing hydraulics with a left - right valve with a long handle so it wouldn't be too sensitive.
Even at slow fork lift speeds, it was very awkward and hard to control.
It might have been better with a return to center feature.
Edited to say:
After thinking about this, it didn't follow the position of the lever. It just jogged the angle of the steering left or right and was easy to overshoot the angle that you wanted.

Last edited:

GetDeviceInfo