Speaker Power Circuit Breaker

HDS

Joined Oct 17, 2018
I would like to build a device that would close a circuit upon the presence of a loud sound on a radio speaker lead. I'm not an electrical engineer, so I really don't know how this would be done. But, it seems that if I had a relay that closed a circuit upon the presentation of certain level of power, that would do the trick. Note that I am not trying to turn off the speaker power, I just want to use the speaker power to trigger the relay. This device needs to be quick.

What kind of relay would do this given that the trigger is the presence of the loud volume in the speaker. Assume that the amplifier is just a small portable radio, not a big stereo.

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
I would like to build a device that would close a circuit upon the presence of a loud sound on a radio speaker lead. I'm not an electrical engineer, so I really don't know how this would be done. But, it seems that if I had a relay that closed a circuit upon the presentation of certain level of power, that would do the trick. Note that I am not trying to turn off the speaker power, I just want to use the speaker power to trigger the relay. This device needs to be quick.

What kind of relay would do this given that the trigger is the presence of the loud volume in the speaker. Assume that the amplifier is just a small portable radio, not a big stereo.
Questions:
Do you want to take the signal electrically from the speaker leads or acoustically from the sound?
Do you want the relay to latch on or stay on for a pre determined time?

HDS

Joined Oct 17, 2018
I want to take the signal electrically from the speaker leads and I want the relay to stay closed for the duration of the "loud signal", then open.

Externet

Joined Nov 29, 2005
Then it is a 'speaker power circuit maker'.