Soldering Iron fuse blow predicament.

SeanV123

Joined Nov 12, 2020
Hello, I have this soldering iron. It used to work perfect for me but now every time I turn it on the fuse in the station blows. I bought repleacment fuses as per the manufacturers specifications and they still blow when I turn it on. But here's the weird part. When I turn on the station woth the iron unplugged it stays on. However when I plug the iron into the station the fuse blows straight away. Is there any reason for this? It worked perfectly before and this is only a recent problem. I took the iron apart and everything seems okay. I really want my iron to work so I can stay occupied over the Christmas as my country is back in lockdown. Thank you!
16086519268914142108219364555121.jpg

SeanV123

Joined Nov 12, 2020
Thank you for your reply. I am quite new to this so which wires will I check? I took the iron apart and all the wires look good and well connected
Apologies. Wrong reply. How would check the resistance of the heating element. I have a multimeter. What would I be looking for, as in how do i know if the heating element is the problem or not ?

SeanV123

Joined Nov 12, 2020
One other thing. I live in Ireland and the mains voltage is 230V. The fuse I'm using (according to the manufacturers specifications says 315ma 250V). Would that cause a problem? As I said, I used this iron before without problem so I can't see why it would .

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Thank you for your reply. I am quite new to this so which wires will I check? I took the iron apart and all the wires look good and well connected
There are 3 wires in the iron cable. When you look at the pins in the connector, the one on the right should be connected to the metal sleeve. The other two are the heating element.

You should measure an open circuit from either terminal of the heater to the sleeve. The heating element should be around 12.5 ohms. Make sure you subtract lead resistance from your measurements.