SMPS - Connecting Ground with Earth Ground

John Czerwinski

Joined Jun 19, 2017
Note: I'm not an electrical engineer.

I've been researching this topic and have not seen anything that seems definitive or consistent. Working on an arcade game with an older crt-type monitor. The monitor will get faint interference lines (sometimes called "herringbone" or mori lines), which seems to come from a ground loop.

If I disconnect the earth ground of the monitor (ground wire connected directly to the monitor chassis to the third ground plug on the AC plug), the interference goes away.

I've read that tying the GND and FG on the power supply (see below that came from a Midway manual) is a way to rectify this issue as well. But have not found a good explanation on why this works, if this is safe, or some will say it will destroy the equipment.

Any help or references would be greatly appreciated! Really would like to understand this.

1687466751121.png

Attachments

Last edited:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I'm not sure of the entire set up that you have, but it sounds like a ground loop is very possible. Ideally, you want the earth ground to be a "star-connected" configuration such that there are are no loops, which will act as both receivers and transmitters of electromagnetic interference. So you want the monitor ground connection to be routed back to the power supply and connected to the ground connection there.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Not a "ground loop" issue but certainly a ground noise issue.
As for the connection addition shown, my GUESS is that the black wires on the third terminal are supply negative connection, and that the green-yellow wire on the other third-in terminal is the "safety ground" pin on the mains plug. So that addition is tying the safety ground to the supply negative. That is a legitimate sort of fix. If you are seriously concerned then you can make that connection with a low current fuse, half an amp or 1/4amp.