Small Linear Power Supply, smoothing capacitor current is huge?

Travm

Joined Aug 16, 2016
I'm considering building a small powered speaker, and I'm working through building a power supply for it.
It will need to be a dual power supply, and I've read unregulated supplies are typically used for audio amps because they're cheap and they work. I may add a regulator but thats for another thought.

Vin 120v AC 60hz,
Transformer ratings I havent settled on, but i'm looking at something rated for at least 2A in parallel configuration, with 12v output (should be a 10:1 windings)
Anticipating about 2A output, I started playing around in LTSpice, and found to get a reasonably smooth waveform at about 2A output the smoothing capacitor must be over 4000uF, and the current is huge.

Looking at a handful of example circuits, this is about what the circuit looks like, but I don't think this will work. The transformer will burn itself up wont it?

Any thoughts or links that might help me with smoothing this (or pointing out what i've done wrong)?

I've attached a screengrab of the sim.
powersupply.png

I understand a 12v 2A powersupply can be bought for something like $5, but this can be scaled upwards, to something closer to 100W or more. Its a learning experience.

ci139

Joined Jul 11, 2016
you can actually quite precise measure your TF by the RMS vlotage~current
PS! the mains voltage varies and the resulting XL also has a systematic drift along with the V.RMS mains
. . . so take 10 to 20 samples at different voltage values
(might be a hell to wait for the stable isle in time to be able to read your "drifting" meters)
. . . for low power 240VRMS TF the primary has . . . (see fig.)
. . . for "sclaing" the coils L.new = L.old · (U.new/U.old)²
-- actually it may be less than square dependence of amp turns versus inductance
about Single-Layer Coil Inductance Calculator, Electrical, RF and Electronics Calculators, Unit Converter
ZHN28-12W20V628mA_TEST - DEMO - 1A.png

Last edited: