Simple oscillator not working

user151281

Joined Jun 12, 2017
Hi all

I am new to electronics and I am new to this forum too, I hope this is the right section.

I tried to make an oscillator, but slightly different than usual, in the tank circuit instead of placing an inductor put a connection to a transformer. Thus I just added an input source, but no extra output sources. Trouble is that there is no current entering the transformer, the circuit does not oscillate. It slowly (albeit very slowly) drains the power, so it seems something is happening.
The circuit design is in the attached image.

For the design I started from the Colpitts oscillator C1 and C2 are constant film capacitors and C3 is an electrolytic capacitor.
The main differences are:
1) I didn't use the fourth capacitor that I saw in many designs online.
2) I did not add any earth connection.
3) R2 is connected before R3 and the transistor (this was actually a soldering mistake).

What could be the issue? Is it a bad idea to use directly the tank circuit for the output oscillation or could it be one of the other points?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Attachments

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
It would help if you add component values to the schematic; also if you post the 'usual' oscillator circuit you based yours on.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
Hi all

I am new to electronics and I am new to this forum too, I hope this is the right section.

I tried to make an oscillator, but slightly different than usual, in the tank circuit instead of placing an inductor put a connection to a transformer. Thus I just added an input source, but no extra output sources. Trouble is that there is no current entering the transformer, the circuit does not oscillate. It slowly (albeit very slowly) drains the power, so it seems something is happening.
The circuit design is in the attached image.