simple dc power supply problem

abdullah8391

Joined Sep 6, 2015
Urgently need your help.

I designed a dc power supply shown in figure 1, and implemented on breadboard. But whenever i turn variable resistor to decrease voltage, after decreasing 7V (approx.), the Variable resistor flashes up (i.e burns down). But as shown in second figure 2, when i place diode D5 at input-output of lm317, the variable resistor doesn't burns up. Can someone please explain me how this diode prevents burning up of variable resistor?
R2 (5K) is the place where i am using variable resistor.

And also can you tell me some points that might could be asked by instructor (because i have viva by tomorrow for this project(i.e after 12 hours approx.))

also i am a beginner, so please try to begin from scratch...

Attachments

Last edited:

abdullah8391

Joined Sep 6, 2015
I can't see anything on the schematic that would cause the problem you describe. Check your breadboard layout very carefully.
well sorry to disappoint you, but i alone didn't faced this problem, variable resistor of all the students who tried it without D5 burnt up, but after putting D5, it didn't burnt up....

i couldn't understand the reason, that how diode D5 is preventing them from burning...

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Either the whole class has a bad batch of parts or you all have the chips connected incorrectly. There are six different packages for the LM317 family. Which one are you using?

What is the input AC value in Vrms?

What is the load on the output?

What is the output voltage with R5 turned all the way up?

ak

abdullah8391

Joined Sep 6, 2015
Either the whole class has a bad batch of parts or you all have the chips connected incorrectly. There are six different packages for the LM317 family. Which one are you using?

What is the input AC value in Vrms?

What is the load on the output?

What is the output voltage with R5 turned all the way up?

ak