Shorting stuff out on purpose, a whole new ball game?

ulms

Joined Mar 19, 2024
Hello, I'm 62, I'm new to this. I was the guy you came to to fix your car back in the 70s. I just retired, a construction worker, I said I'll be damned, I'm going to learn what the hell these little things do in the cars keep people keep bringing me to fix. I'm studying BJT transistors. I'm making all kinds of circuits, I'm copying circuits from schematics on line I'm adding two or three of them together to make what I want to make. But most importantly I want to say this about electronics as I see it. Shorting something out which was considered a huge No-No in my day is business as usual in these circuits at these voltage and current levels. Is that correct?

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Hello, I'm 62, I'm new to this. I was the guy you came to to fix your car back in the 70s. I just retired, a construction worker, I said I'll be damned, I'm going to learn what the hell these little things do in the cars keep people keep bringing me to fix. I'm studying BJT transistors. I'm making all kinds of circuits, I'm copying circuits from schematics on line I'm adding two or three of them together to make what I want to make. But most importantly I want to say this about electronics as I see it. Shorting something out which was considered a huge No-No in my day is business as usual in these circuits at these voltage and current levels. Is that correct?
No. Give us an example.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
We really need to see some specific examples of what you are referring to.

ulms

Joined Mar 19, 2024
We really need to see some specific examples of what you are referring to.