Sequential switch

tbone3366

Joined Dec 7, 2023
This is my first post here, little bit of background, I'm an automotive mechanic and partial network engineer

What I'm trying to do

I want to have a pulse trigger a sequential series of transistors

Then reset to the first after 6 pulses

Would need to have it trigger each transistor individually as well

I've looked into a 555 timer and multiplexer but for what I want to do the multiplexer won't work since I need to use only a single input which would be a pulse

Each pul selects from 0 1 2 3 4 5 then reset to 0

It would need to be able to run at 100hz at the absolute fastest

Any info is deeply appreciated

And lastly I'm avoiding Arduino if I can

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
A common "Counter" chip will easily do what You are asking for,
and will count to 10, or anything less than 10.
They can also be "daisy-chained" for much higher numbers.

You must be much more specific regarding the characterization of your "Pulse-Input",
and the required Voltage and Current for the Outputs,
and the available Power-Supply-Voltage,
and a detailed explanation of the purpose of this project, because there
might be a more appropriate solution to the overall project.

tbone3366

Joined Dec 7, 2023
A common "Counter" chip will easily do what You are asking for,
and will count to 10, or anything less than 10.
They can also be "daisy-chained" for much higher numbers.

You must be much more specific regarding the characterization of your "Pulse-Input",
and the required Voltage and Current for the Outputs,
and the available Power-Supply-Voltage,
and a detailed explanation of the purpose of this project, because there
might be a more appropriate solution to the overall project.
The specific use case would be

Use the grounded terminal for an ignition coil to ground a mosfet to send a 12.5V signal to the counter

The counter then triggers a transistor that runs 12.8V at 2 amps

This transistor will fire a fuel injector