resistor size confusion...

Draugr Rekkr

Joined Dec 22, 2015
I got some 1/2 watt resistors from a shop called jaycars here in New Zealand and then I wanted to get a lot more and since I'm a cheep student I didn't want to spent a whole lot of money at jaycars I jumped on eBay to get more 1/2 watts for cheaper as I'm sure plenty of people do but when I received them today I found that they were 2x bigger then the ones from jaycar so I checked the packaging on both the jaycar resistors and the eBay ones and tho only difference that I could find was that the jaycar ones were labelled 0.5w and the eBay ones were 1/2w... Correct me if I'm wrong but 0.5 and 1/2 is the same thing right? So why are the eBay resistors bigger? I'll post an image of them side by side too show you what I mean.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Different manufacturers, different materials yield different size resistors. Power and resistance are just two of many parameters you can choose from.

Or, somebody picked em from the wrong stock bin.

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014
The resistors on the right (1100 ohms) look like 1/4 watt resistors. The resistors on the left (220K) look like 1/2 watt resistors.

Draugr Rekkr

Joined Dec 22, 2015
Different manufacturers, different materials yield different size resistors. Power and resistance are just two of many parameters you can choose from.

Or, somebody picked em from the wrong stock bin.
Do you know any web sights that sell these smaller ones I can't seem to find them

Joined Nov 30, 2010
What is your goal? Do you need really tiny resistors? Are you just checking to see if these will work?
ps, please include in your pictures something to indicate actual size, like the end of a ruler or a tape measure. Your coins probably won't help unless you write what size they are in millimeters or inches.

Joined Nov 30, 2010