Reading ohms on a Multi-value Resistor

Doug Roper

Joined Jun 2, 2015
I'm by no means an electrician. I know the basics but I rebuild small engines and occasionally those engines come on a generator. I have a RadioShack 17 Analogue Multimeter. The settings are continuity, X10, X100 and X1K. On motors I usually set it on X10 to check the coils. I've rebuilt the motor on a Honda EW171 Generator/Welder. It is producing nothing even after flashing. So far I'm assuming the winding is shot.
The Shop Manual for the Generator has testing for diagnostic purposes. Most of them are for continuity but there are some where I have to get or meet certain ohms. Right now I have on my desk a 4 color Multivalue Resistor (see attached). The colors are from left to right: Red, Blue, White/Red and Red/White. I set the Meter at X10 and get the following:
Red to Blue (req 160 ohms) I'm getting 5 ohms
Red to White/Red (req 167 ohms) I'm getting 10 ohms
Red to Red/White (req 173 ohms) I'm getting 170 ohms
Blue to White/Red (req 7 ohms) I'm getting 160 ohms
Blue to Red/White (req 13 ohms) I'm getting 180 ohms
Am I doing something wrong or is the resistor defective?DSCF9384[1].jpg

PackratKing

Joined Jul 13, 2008
Is the resistor isolated from the rest of the circuitry it is designed to function in... Your picture shows it as wired... roadmap it, remove the wires and measure again

Hypatia's Protege

Joined Mar 1, 2015
Red to Blue (req 160 ohms) I'm getting 5 ohms
Red to White/Red (req 167 ohms) I'm getting 10 ohms
The above example confirms the fact that your readings are being 'interfered with' by circuitry connected to the resistor (i.e. based upon physical order Red-To-White must show less resistance [via the resistor alone] than Red-To-Blue)

If you wish to test the resistor, please disconnect it from other components/circuitry

Best regards
HP

Doug Roper

Joined Jun 2, 2015