Raspberry Pi wireless button 'HELP'

cararh88

Joined Sep 9, 2018
Hello everyone,

my name is Cara and I'm an occupational therapist. I would like some help/advice with a project I am doing for one of my clients. My client is in need of a cause and effect contraption to learn how to drive a powered wheelchair.

Enter raspberry pi idea... My client currently uses a button to communicate needs (yes and no questions) I would like to use the augmented communication device (button) to teach my client how to use a wheelchair powered with head movements. Is there a way to program a raspberry pi to communicate with a wireless button to move a toy car (or other apparatus) when pressed. Ideally the apparatus would move left when the client touches the button on left side and right on right (maybe have two buttons?). Any advice would help I have this idea that I think would really benefit others but no clue to to program.

Thank you all,

Cara the OT
*sorry if the writing seems stiff I am trying to not reveal any identifying qualities of my client out of respect.

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
Would not need a Raspberry Pi to do this, a ESP8266 or ESP32 approach
would easily handle this.

Google this - "esp8266 remote switch" or "esp8266 remote relay"

Regards, Dana.

cararh88

Joined Sep 9, 2018
Would not need a Raspberry Pi to do this, a ESP8266 or ESP32 approach
would easily handle this.

Google this - "esp8266 remote switch" or "esp8266 remote relay"

Regards, Dana.
thank you so much for helping me out!! I will look into how this would work.

cararh88

Joined Sep 9, 2018
Hi so I googled the switch and still have a few questions do you think it is possible to use a wireless button that looks like this one:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
There are simpler off-the-shelf solutions.
You may want to look at adapting RC (radio control) toys.
Also, look at wireless door bells. These are readily available at most hardware stores.

cararh88

Joined Sep 9, 2018