Question about reducing current to a simple 12v 110w DC heating element

Martoia

Joined Sep 5, 2021
I’m a beginner, you have taught me much already, this is my first time posting about a project so please be gentle :)

I have a 12v aprox-110w DC water heater element, which for excellent reasons I would like to use to boil 500mls of water. Wattage is aprox because the manufacturer gives contradictory wattage specs, and mine appears to operate between 106-110w in use.

The device does function as intended when connected to my battery system’s cigarette lighter output (12v, 10a max). However, its cable and terminals become very hot during operation. Other users of the device have noted this fault too. I fear that the insulation will burn or the casing melt.

I would like to modify and improve it so as to eliminate this risk whilst keeping current at or below 10a.

As it stands, the device draws 106-110w @12v from my battery system. By my calculations, this means its drawing 8.8-9.2a – just within the capacity of the battery system's 10a fuse. Some users of the same device have simply replaced the stock cable with thicker core, but my understanding (courtesy of Herr Doktor Ohm) is that this will increase the current drawn by the device, and therefore blow my battery system’s 10a fuse.

My idea is to add resistance to the circuit instead. I wondered if wiring a second identical heating element in series with the first would achieve this whilst still enabling me to boil water? Or, put directly: what would the effect on current and thermal output be of wiring two heating elements rated at 110w in series on a 12v circuit?

Thanks so much for your help :)

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
If you have 2 in series, the current will halve. So will the total power, so each heater will now heat at 25% of the original.