Programming PIC Microcontroller in C

sarvanan

Joined Aug 8, 2016
Hi members,

I am new to microcontroller programming. I want to program PIC 16F18345 microcontroller using C language on MPLABX IDE, XC8 compiler.

Please let me know good online tutorial where I can learn to program above said microcontrller in C language. I mean how to add headers, which header for what purpose and how to add libraries and what all libraries are available. I also need example sample program for pic16F18345.

One example, if i need to compile a program with pointer, an array what all needs to be done on mplabx ide selecting pic16f18345.
e.g.,
C:
int a[5]={1,2,3,4,5};
void main(void)
{
int *p,i;
p=a;
for(i=0;i<5;i++)
printf(“%d”,*(p+i));
}
In the same way, how to write complex program? Please let me know the tutorials.

Thanks & regards,
Sarvanan.

Last edited by a moderator:

sarvanan

Joined Aug 8, 2016
And also please let me know the link for collection of sample code for pic16f18345, mplabx ide , xc8 compiler.

Thanks & regards,
Sarvanan.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Hi Albert,

Please let me know how to use Simulator to see the output.

Thanks & regards,
Sarvanan.
Google 'mplab x ide simulator tutorial' and choose which you fancy.

And also please let me know the link for collection of sample code for pic16f18345, mplabx ide , xc8 compiler.

Thanks & regards,
Sarvanan.
The Microchip link I gave above is a sample project for this uC and XC8.

Robin Mitchell

Joined Oct 25, 2009
@dannyf I think he is asking about the specifics of the C language that relates to the micro. For example, TMR4 register is not standard C and is a define for a register found in the SFR banks.

HiTec C would use LATA0 to access bit 0 whereas C18 requires LATAbits.LATA0

sarvanan

Joined Aug 8, 2016
Hi Members,

Thanks all of you for prompt response. Looks like as I am new to microcontroller programming I could not ask question properly.