Power issues

E-MotionRichard

Joined Aug 26, 2014
Greetings fellow techs. I am currently a student finishing up my senior year in Electrical Engineering. At work, I work with motion controls. Currently I have a project that I am working on, where our engineer designed a board to interface with a controller/driver. The circuit basically consists of a couple resistor, voltage regulator, diode and relay. When testing interface board alone, all voltages measure correct. However, when connected to the controller/driver, the voltage drops to 1.8 Vdc, instead of the 24Vdc input that it should be. Could this be an isolation problem? any input would be appreciated.

E-MotionRichard

Joined Aug 26, 2014
Thank you for your replies, yes, I guess I failed to share that vital information. At the moment, I do not have the schematic with me, but will share a little more info. As stated, the circuit our engineer designed consists of only 5 components, (a regulator, two resistors, a diode and a relay). Also, there are 7 connectors on the board (a 4 pin header, 5 pin header, two 8 pin headers, a 4 pin molex connector, a 14 pin connector, and a DB 15 connector).
The control board, which I do not yet have a schematic for, has four connector as well that we connect to. Our 4 pin, 5 pin, and two 8 pin headers plug into the matching connectors on the control board.
Ok, now a little about the circuitry. Without our interface board, our two phase stepper motor connects to one of the 8 pin connectors on the control board (A+, A-, B+, B-). The 4 pin connector is: +24VDC, GRD, RS485 A, and RS485 B. Then the 5 pin connector is for the encoder, +5VDC, GRD, A signal, B signal, and Index. The other 8 pin connector we are not using, but it is for inputs.