Potentiometer question.

mpierich

Joined Nov 26, 2023
Hi. I'm a hobbyist so please excuse the ignorance.

I'm trying to control a 12v, 10,000 rpm motor with a 10k pot. The pot tests ok and varies from 0 to 10k.
But when I wire it to a battery and the motor, no current passes through it. At all.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
The pot tests ok and varies from 0 to 10k.
But when I wire it to a battery and the motor, no current passes through it. At all.
It's probably too low for you to measure. Assuming 0 ohms resistance for the motor, you'd have 1.2mA through the pot (at maximum resistance).

How are you trying to measure the current? Voltage across the pot? Or an ammeter?

If you set the resistance of the pot low enough, you probably destroyed it.

If you're trying to vary the speed of the motor, a pot isn't the way to do it. Google PWM.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006

I'm trying to control a 12v, 10,000 rpm motor with a 10k pot. The pot tests ok and varies from 0 to 10k.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
Draw a diagram of how you wired it. No current means no pathway for current to flow.

mpierich

Joined Nov 26, 2023
Welcome to AAC!
It's probably too low for you to measure. Assuming 0 ohms resistance for the motor, you'd have 1.2mA through the pot (at maximum resistance).

How are you trying to measure the current? Voltage across the pot? Or an ammeter?

If you set the resistance of the pot low enough, you probably destroyed it.

If you're trying to vary the speed of the motor, a pot isn't the way to do it. Google PWM.
Ok, thanks. I'll look into that.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
It is very unlikely that you can control the motor with a 10kΩ potentiometer.
The first thing you need to do is to measure the current the motor draws with 12V supply, without any potentiometer.

Jon Chandler

Joined Jun 12, 2008
How much current does the motor draw? Chances are, the pot is rated for nowhere near that current draw.