Please review wiring for PIR sensor and solenoid project

Okini

Joined May 19, 2024
Folks, have been working on the project and I'd appreciate any help with checking if everything wired correctly and if there's anything needs to be added or is redundant.

Project is straightforward: PIR sensor activates solenoid valve. There's switch for PIR sensor with indicator light and a button that turns on solenoid right away.

I tried assembling the above without switch/button/led and it seemed to be working. However I noticed that 12V input for Mosfet module needs to be connected to the left side of the breadboard as it loses voltage if it is on the right side (to 5V approx) as if PIR sensor acts a resistor. I tried using diode between PIR module and breadboard but in the end couldn't connect the button and the switch.

Furthermore, I have doubts on:

• the need for pull-down resistor(s)
  • wiring of button and placement of diodes
I'm a newbie, so any advice and help is welcome! Thank you!

PIR first pass_bb.png

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
This seems way over complicated, or maybe it's the hateful way Fritzing fritzes electronics into incomprehensible garbage.

The push button can simply be connected across the MOSFET module.
(but is the module switching the high side or the low side? Connect the switch across where the voltage goes to zero when the PIR triggers.)

A single flyback diode should be placed across the solenoid, cathode to the positive side
The LED, PIR and switch seem to be wired correctly.

Note that some breadboards have breaks in the power supply rails, check with ohm meter.

Don't feel bad about being confused here, Fritzing and all these poorly documented modules are not helping anyone really learn electronics.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013