PLC Ladder logic project

sonny patel

Joined Aug 19, 2019
I'm working on a project for a summer internship and was hoping for some assistance with PLC Ladder Logic. I have been trying for the last couple of days to program the PLC to do what I want but have been unsuccessful so far (it's my first time using ladder logic). I am using a LRD12RD024 PLC, a Banner Engineering laser sensor, an LED indicator light, and a foot pedal. The sensor and the foot pedal are my inputs and the LED is my output. My project is to reduce human error in a part-marking operation, more specifically reducing the amount of parts that are marked twice or not marked at all. I am using the background suppression (BGS) feature on the sensor (recognizes background as OFF position and anything placed in front of it turns it ON).

Here is how the intended sequence for the programming would look:

1. i) Starts on: sensor in BGS and detects fixture as background (sensor light OFF)

ii) Action: place part on fixture

iii) Done when: part is recognized on fixture (sensor light ON)

2. i) Starts on: part on fixture

ii) Action: press foot pedal to mark part

iii) Done when: fixture rotates part/part is marked

3. i) Starts on: marked part is on the fixture

ii) Action: remove part from fixture

iii) Done when: part is removed and Sensor detects fixture (sensor light: OFF)

4. repeat
My hope is that if a part of the sequence is skipped, the indicator LED will turn on. For example, if a part is marked and the operator attempts to press the pedal again (operator presses pedal twice), the the PLC would alert them that they are doing so as they didn't meet the necessary conditions to do so (removing the part and placing a new part on the fixture). Or if they try to remove a part before it is marked (skipping step 3), the PLC would give make the indicator LED go off.