Pioneer SA 7500 repair

rmweisman

Joined Jul 21, 2015
When I try to test the amp with scope and sine wave generator, the relay clicks on and off and dim bulb tester flashes with each click. With no input all measurements on the amp board are correct; resistors in spec, caps all new. Power transistors not shorted testing them with diode setting on meter..
I am new to this hobby, learning from you tube and some textbooks, and just starting to read boards and post. So, is this the way to find technical answers?

rmweisman

Joined Jul 21, 2015
Download the service manual here..

https://elektrotanya.com/pioneer_sa-7500.pdf/download.html

The relay is to protect the speaker outputs and is on page 33 of the manual.

It would help you better if you describe the problem without the testing.
Thank you for your reply.
When I turn on the amp, relay click and voltages are normal (idle). When I input a signal thru aux or thru tuner inputs, I get abnormal behavior. The relay clicks on and off and the dim bulb in series to the power cord, which detects high current, also flashes on and off. The DC measurements on the speaker terminals, which are protected by the relay as you point out, indicate negligible voltage.

What is the next step?

rmweisman

Joined Jul 21, 2015
Remove the bulb and power it up normally.
The bulb is in series on the AC power. It is used to indicate excessive power draw by the unit being tested. It is protective, like a fuse, and is recommended in testing a unit which may be faulty. Mine IS faulty and I am seeking advice on further testing. You may be interested in the descriptions of "dim bulb tester" on the net.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Dodgydave is correct. While an incandescent light-bulb may act as an over-current indicator, it may also prevent the unit from operating correctly.