Piezo momentary switch Help!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by scscorpion, Apr 14, 2017.

1. scscorpion

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 14, 2017
    Looking to make a momentary switch using a piezo disc. Would like to do this with no power source or microcontroller. Looking to make a impact target that would switch on a prop that comes with a try me mode that uses a momentary switch. I think I know how to do this but not all the components or correct wiring. If I am correct I would hook up a piezo disc to a mosfet with a resistor on the ground from the disc to the mosfet. If someone could help with a diagram of the circuit with the information on the components needed (a BOM would be a big help) I would be grateful. I am a newbie and have some variable knowledge on electronics.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    You're going to have to try a little harder.
    Piezo transducer: What part number? What size? Any specs at all? Found it in a gas grille ingiter? Was it supposed to be a sound producer or a spark igniter when it was born?
    Impact: With what? A BB? A hammer? Little sister's head?
    Switch on a "prop": A propeller? A prop for a magic show? A proposition for a business contract?
    No power supply: Mosfets don't work with no power supply, and neither do, "props".

You do have some of it correct. A piezo transducer will produce a voltage pulse. A mosfet has nearly infinite impedance on its gate but they have rather delicate voltage limits. A piezo igniter can produce 1000 volts but a mosfet gate will punch through at about 20 volts. You need to have enough capacitance to hold the charge on the gate long enough to activate a switch of some sort. At the same time, you need a voltage limiter below 20 volts and a bleed off resistor in harmony with the capacitor to make a time constant related to what you want to switch.

That's a lot of typing for, "I don't know" but you get the point. I don't know because I can't see what you see.

3. scscorpion