PIC signal question

ksquare

Joined Oct 11, 2009
The attached pic is a simplified section of a circuit I'm trying to understand. The arrow points to a point where on some boards the voltage is +5v and others it's around +2.19v. The boards with 5v are good but the others not so much. I'm no expert on the PIC but shouldn't the signal from the PIC be either high (5v) or low (~0v)? I don't have access to the PIC code. Thoughts?
sample_drawing.gif

ksquare

Joined Oct 11, 2009
Not asking for anyone to do any work. Just wondering if anyone has knowledge of the PIC pin off the top of their head. Already have datasheets for both devices.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Just wondering if anyone has knowledge of the PIC pin off the top of their head. Already have datasheets for both devices.
I have no knowledge of that particular part, but digital outputs essentially switch between VSS and VDD. Inputs in well-designed circuits don't load outputs driving them. With a pull-up resistor on that node, you're looking at one of the 3 defects I mentioned.

Jon Chandler

Joined Jun 12, 2008
I see two possibilities:

● R is much less than 20k, preventing the PIC from pulling down the voltage.

● This cyptic note about pin 1 of the LT part:

Screenshot_20231110_112359_Dropbox.jpg

You'll have to delve further into the data sheet to understand what this means.

ksquare

Joined Oct 11, 2009
I was puzzled because it looks like the PIC pin can be an output or an input pin depending on register settings. The PIC datasheet is 496 pages long. Guess I was wondering if there was a PIC expert here. And yes that note is cryptic:)

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
How are you measuring the voltage? If you are using a multimeter, it might be switching between 0 and 5V and you are reading the average. Switch to the AC range. If you get any voltage (more than a few millivolts) it is switching.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009