PIC 16f877A - "Target Device ID (0x0) does not match expected Device ID (0xe20)."

EclecticElectric

Joined Aug 3, 2011
Good Evening Everyone!,

I am an electrical engineering student and recently chose to start working with microcontrollers to gain more practical experience with my major. I began working on the "hello world" blinking LED project about a week ago and have hit a few snags; a couple of them I have solved on my own with some research online but the latest one I can't seem to figure out.

I am using MPLabX with the XC8 compiler, PICKit 3, and the PIC16f877A.

My code builds successfully but with everything connected and powered up I get this from the MPLab X Output Window:

"Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3...
Firmware Suite Version.....01.32.10
Firmware type..............Midrange

Target detected
Target Device ID (0x0) does not match expected Device ID (0xe20).

The following memory area(s) will be programmed:
program memory: start address = 0x0, end address = 0x7ff

Programming...
program memory
Address: 0 Expected Value: 120a Received Value: 0
Failed to program device"

I found a thread about this on the Microchip forums here( http://www.microchip.com/forums/m672761.aspx) but none of the solutions have worked for me. Any help is greatly appreciated!

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Have you measured the supply voltage?

Do you have anything connected to the ICSP pins, aside from the PIC?

How is your crystal/resonator/oscillator connected? (This PIC doesn't have an internal oscillator)

Perhaps you should post a picture of your setup...

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
I would second ErnieM on this one too.
I would check to make sure all connections are where they are supposed to be, then also make sure the pic is powered, either through the pickit or by another external means.

EclecticElectric

Joined Aug 3, 2011