OP-AMP simple problem

OggiSerbia

Joined Dec 28, 2017
I am new in all this so I would be grateful if somebody with more experience can check my solution of this electronics problem.

Thanks in advance!

Problem: Screenshot_2.jpg
Vout (Vo) should be solved for R.

*OP-AMP is ideal!

My solution: IMG_20171228_122217.jpg

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Thanks for showing your work. That's refreshing.

Before I point anything out in your work, what have you don't to check the validity of it? That should become an automatic part of solving any problem, both now in school and after you get out into the "real world" (where there usually won't be anyone to check it for you).

Pick some limiting cases, such as ΔR = 0 and/or R1=R2 and see if everything works out for, say, Vi = 1 V.

If those work, then pick something slightly more complex, such as ΔR = R and check that.

If that also works, then it is highly likely that you got it right.

Do all of those work?

OggiSerbia

Joined Dec 28, 2017
Thank you very much.

Firstly I had tried with ΔR = 0 and it worked. After that, R1=R2 and ΔR=R were giving me bad results. So it was enough to check my solution again and I noticed a mistake in my calculation in row 4 - my equation was bad.
I've corrected it and now it works perfectly for any case.

Here's the correction: IMG_20171228_122217.jpg

Thanks again. See you soon.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
So what was you new solution?

I can't quite read the changes you made, but if they say what I think they do, then they aren't correct.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
It says: (Vi - V2)/R = (V2 - V1)/R

And from there I got: Vi + V1 = V2

So it is not correct?
So (Vi - V2) / R would appear to be the current flowing downward in the righthand R, while (V2 - V1) / R is the current flowing downward in the R just below it. That seems just fine.

But I'm a bit puzzled how you got from there to Vi + V1 = V2.