Old Craftsman AC motor circuit problem

Shwermy

Joined Apr 4, 2022
Heya! I've been struggling with this old craftsman variable speed motor. I've torn it completely apart and put it back together and determined it has to be something in the circuit board not letting it start. The armature spins freely maybe a little drag. When I turn the switch it will rotate half a turn the flip the overload protection. I cant see any burn marks or other damage to the board. I'm kind of lost at this point expecially as this motor is before my time. I am pretty new at circuits I'm a mechanic by trade not a electrician :p. Any help would be greatly appreciated! If more pictures needed i can post. Thanks in aadvance!! If post not allowed i appologize.16490843996881284518019958760176.jpg
1649084450326666390916823220394.jpg16490844819918419282279118902226.jpg16490844993536576962989641471428.jpgmotor model: 266.23480. 60 cycle, 1 phase. 115 volt, 1/2hp, 500-5000rpm

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
Unless You can "reverse-engineer" a Schematic,
it's a crap-shoot trying to replace the 2 SCRs, ( the devices with 2-pins ).
If the other 3 devices, ( Diodes ), are de-soldered and taken out of Circuit, they can be tested,
and their polarities verified,
and could be readily replaced with generic parts.

But do You really want to abuse yourself that much to keep it all original "looking" ?

Most likely, You have a standard "Universal-Motor",
which will run on AC or DC at standard Mains-Voltage.

There are plenty of aftermarket speed-control-modules,
or separate external speed-controls in their own box,
that are widely available, and reasonably priced.
If You need speed-control ability, a new external controller is what I would recommend,
then the only other thing You will need is a new Power-Cord connected to the Red & Black wires,
( and, of course, a Grounding-Wire to the Case of the Motor-Housing ).

Shwermy

Joined Apr 4, 2022
Unless You can "reverse-engineer" a Schematic,