Ohm's law not matching readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparkie78

Joined Nov 5, 2016
I'm new to electronics, still learning, and I need some help understanding something. I've got an aerator that runs on two 1.5V D batteries. I'm trying to figure a way I can wire this to work on my 12 volt boat battery and do away with the D cells which are always dying at inconvenient times. Anyway, I connected the motor to a 3.45 volt power supply and read the power draw as 0.2 amps. Just for kicks I read the resistance of the motor and it reads 1.9 ohms. But according to ohm's law, at that voltage with a 0.2 amp draw the resistance should be 17.25 ohms. On the other side, a motor with 1.9 ohms resistance should draw 1.81 amps! And the 1.9 ohms * 0.2 amps is .38 volts! These numbers aren't even close. What's going on? Am I not applying the formula correctly? Isn't it R = V/I, I = V/R and V = I*R? This should be about as simple and basic as you can get, but I'm lost. Evidently I'm not learning as well as I thought.
BTW I checked all the readings with 2 different digital meters and got identical readings.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
You're neglecting meter resistance when measuring current. Classical novice mistake.

Try using paragraphs in your posts; correct grammar makes them easier to read.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Your calculations are correct as far as they go. The problem is you don't understand how a motor operates.

The measured resistance of the motor is just the parasitic resistance of the windings.
That is what determines the current during startup, before the rotor starts turning, which is generally much higher than the running current.

When running, most of the voltage drop across the motor is due to the back EMF from the spinning rotor, which is the part of the electrical energy used that is doing the work.
Any power dissipated in the motor resistance is just wasted and contributes to the motor inefficiency.