NPN transistor connections which end is the collector

Klubowy

Joined Apr 30, 2016
Hi I'm just learning the basics in electronics and I'm a bit confused. Some sources say that the transistor when facing the flat side has the E B C in that order from left to right. Others maintain that when read from left to right it's C B E. Now which end is the collector and which is the emitter. I hope I didn't make it too confusing.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Assuming we are talking about the TO-92 package for small signal bipolar transistors, there are 6 possible arrangements of three pin signals and somewhere there is a transistor for almost every one. There is no standard. Two of the arrangements are much more popular than others, but there is no standard. "When facing the flat side", E B C and E C B are the two most popular.

Be very careful when reading datasheets. Most datasheets indicate the pinout with the part viewed from the top, but National Semiconductor (and others) often show the pinout when viewed from the bottom.

ak

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Strongly ditto AK's response.

Always refer to the data sheet for THAT part from THAT manufacturer (though most manufacturers will conform to the same pinout for the same nominal part number, this isn't guaranteed) and always look carefully at the pinout diagram to see if it is as view from the top or the bottom.

Klubowy

Joined Apr 30, 2016
Assuming we are talking about the TO-92 package for small signal bipolar transistors, there are 6 possible arrangements of three pin signals and somewhere there is a transistor for almost every one. There is no standard. Two of the arrangements are much more popular than others, but there is no standard. "When facing the flat side", E B C and E C B are the two most popular.

Be very careful when reading datasheets. Most datasheets indicate the pinout with the part viewed from the top, but National Semiconductor (and others) often show the pinout when viewed from the bottom.

ak