Newbie question #1701 Bench Power supply

bibble235

Joined May 29, 2018
Hi Everybody

I am very new to oscilloscopes and finding my way slowly.

Like many I have built my 555 timer circuit with 1k, 100k, 1uf cap and all working and went well. So it was time to use my oscilloscope and try and use a known state to understand how to start using it.

When I use my bench supply there appears to be ringing (pictured RHS), if I swap to using the USB output on the bench supply the ringing reduces but is still visible about 50% less (not pictured). But when I use USB from the PC (pictured LHS) it disappears.

I live in NZ (230V supply voltage and 50Hz) and my bench power supply is a WANPTEK APS3010H

test.jpeg

Is my Power supply broken or Is it something else?

Thanks

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
That doesn’t look like ringing, it look like amplitude modulation.

Reduce the timebase by turning the HORIZONTAL SCALE knob until the waveform of the noise is expanded to be visible as the waveform on the display.

Use the VERTICAL POSITION knob as needed to center it, then use the HORIZONTAL POSITION knob as needed to get the wave form in proper view.

Use the VERTICAL SCALE know to increase the waveform size on the display. Pressing on this know will switch between coarse and fine adjustment to make it easier once you are close to the right size.

Take a photo of the resulting waveform—or better, insert a USB drive into the port on the front and press the green PRINT button to take a screenshot and save it to the drive.

bibble235

Joined May 29, 2018
Late here but will try tomorrow. I think what you are saying, apologies if not, if a square wave expand as wide as possible then set the time frame appropriately.

Had a stroke last year and determined to learn something new. Small steps and thanks for your patience as ever. Always useful to have terms so I can google and youtube.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019