New Prototype, Need Help!

Max_Simons

Joined Jan 16, 2017
Hi guys/gals,

I've been struggling to come up with a solution to my problem on my own and have decided to consult with the internet for help.

My name is Max and I am an electrician in Calgary, Alberta. I am currently working on a prototype tool for use in electrical construction. I dont have a very strong "electronics" background as most of my experience is with 120VAC and up with very large circuits. So i need help with the small stuff!

The tool is simply a device with a switch, when flipped, trips the circuit breaker that powers that particular circuit. For years I have just used a switch, and wire it up to cause a dead short when flipped, however, i have some interest in making a prototype that can be sold in wholesale stores and the current method isn't exactly safe. Because of that, I have to design a circuit that will limit the current in the circuit to 25A in order to not blow up the contacts in the switch, and not exceed the maximum ampacity of #14AWG.

What I need help with is this, if i go with the power resistor route, i run into two issues:
1 - a resistor big enough to handle the current is outrageously expensive.
2 - the resistor gets incredibly hot (obviously)

The solution needs to be relatively inexpensive, small in size, and not melt in your hand.

Any insight you can provide would be great. The nominal system voltage here is 120VAC and the current needs to be limited to no more than 25 Amps.

A product does exist that is branded as a 'circuit analyzer' so I know that a device that functions in this way can be made safe. If you google "EXTECH CT70" you can have a look at it. It does quite a few other things and because of that it is very expensive. which is why i want to build a simple version that just trips breakers.

Thanks so much!

Max

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013