Need to keep a relay latched for 2-3 seconds without power supply

tunafish24

Joined Oct 21, 2011
I'm new to circuits and building a simple prototype to keep the relay latched for a couple of seconds after power is removed - so essentially the power to relay acts as the Input signal. This means I have to store energy in a capacitor (to keep the relay latched) and possibly use resistor as well to control current in the circuit. Can you guys please help me figure out C and R values and how the components would link (C would be in parallel with the Relay but not sure about R)?

Important things for me are:
1. Relay should latch as soon as 12V power is applied
2. Capacitor should charge within 500-700ms and be able to keep relay latched for 2-3 seconds.
3. Since I have to charge capacitor quickly, I need to factor in-rush current so as not to damage power supply.

Would really appreciate if you can share the calculations as well, so I can try with different relays and capacitors etc.

The relay i have is Songle 12V (SRD-12VDC-SL-C), Datasheet: http://www.songlerelay.com/Public/Uploads/20161104/581c81ac16e36.pdf

1705783642800.png

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
To keep the relay energized for 2-3 seconds would likely require a little less than 1 time-constant, depending upon the actual drop-out voltage of the relay.
1 time-constant is a capacitance of 3s / 400Ω = 7.5mF(7,500uF).
You could start with 5mF and see how that works

To charge to 98% of 12V within 500ms would take 4 time-constants, which gives a charging resistance of (0.5s /4 ) / 5mF = 25Ω.
The maximum charging current is then 12V / 25Ω = 480mA.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
after power is removed
Does that mean that the one or both leads of the supply are physically removed (unplugged or with a switch), of that the 12 V source goes to 0 V. If the latter, you will need to add a diode in series with the supply so its output circuits do not add a discharge path for the capacitor.

ak

AnalogKid