Need some opinion

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
For goodness' sake don't try that one out, especially with a rechargeable battery. I'm not an expert in this sort of thing but this circuit does not look even vaguely correct. I fear you are likely to start a fire or worse.

Please wait for someone better informed to advise you.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Need more info on what you're trying to do. I see stepping 12v supply down to 6v, but I don't see what the 6v current load is. This would be a lot of trouble for a lightbulb. Those transistors will handle a few amps of current - if heat sinked - but the other components would be toast.

HaPPy_BoY

Joined Dec 5, 2010
I set the load to be 6V 24W as an example. The lightbulb is just a test load for loads like a servo or dc geared motor

HaPPy_BoY

Joined Dec 5, 2010
Input current = 19.7A DC???
I know it's high but not as high as when I used MOSFET. It went up to >50A which was totally absurb.

This happened when I step down the voltage to 6V. On 12V output, everything's fine (input current to be 4A). Since this is the case, how do i pick 6V out of the 12V output ?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Do you really need 4A current output? That's quite a bit.

Why don't you consider using a 6v sealed lead-acid battery instead of an 11v+ Li-Po?

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
I know it's high but not as high as when I used MOSFET. It went up to >50A which was totally absurb.

This happened when I step down the voltage to 6V. On 12V output, everything's fine (input current to be 4A). Since this is the case, how do i pick 6V out of the 12V output ?
OK, I have a better idea of what is going on here. There is about 16A flowing to ground via a BZV55-C6.V2 Zener diode.
That is a half-watt device and so should not be run beyond about 80mA continuous. Unfortunately, the Zener is fed via a low-resistance path from the input supply. There is nothing to restrict the current to a safe value.