Need some help creating a circuit to detect when a USB device is charging and illuminating a status LED.

RussellReal

Joined Aug 18, 2022
I want to start off by saying I'm a complete noob, I know how to solder, I kinda understand the basics of components.

I have a USB Charged radio for work, all of my co-workers have radios. There is no charging dock for the radios and I've 3d printed a charging dock. I understand parallel circuits so I have no problem charging 6 radios at a time. thats working fine. The problem is that I want to have a status LED for each dock. When a radio is charging I want the LED to illuminate.

My understanding of circuits is that if I have a 5v source, and the radio takes like 4.8v that would be a 4.8v drop across the radio, the remaining .2v isn't enough to power an LED. So I know that the LED would have to be in parallel not in series, however, how can I take the remaining .2v and open a transistor for the LED, I tried a comparator, however, either thats not a good solution or I'm stupid and can't figure it out. I've done many many google searches before coming here.... There isn't much help, and the search terms used is cluttered with silly DIY videos on youtube that are 98% unrelated.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm very interested in learning circuitry better, and would love to stick around on this forum if you guys would have me. :)

Many thanks,
Russell

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
This is more complex than You might imagine ............
It certainly can be done,
but the problem is, is that each of these odd and assorted devices may
draw a different amount of "Quiescent-Current", even after they are completely charged.
So the question is, where do You "draw-the-line" and say definitely that
"at XXX-milliamps" all devices will be considered fully Charged ?

If all the devices were the same make and model,
you could come up with a fixed number,
but with a bunch of random devices it's impossible to know for sure.