Need help with analog power supply problem

Jack_K

Joined May 13, 2009
I have a home made PS that has a problem. It is a variable PS that I have been using for several years. It suddenly developed a problem I can't figure out. The schematic is attached, but doesn't show the transformer, rectifiers, and capacitors, since that portion works fine.

I have verified all resistors are ok and all transistors and the diode check ok with an analog ohmmeter. The LM317 is in the TO-220 package and has a heat sink on it.

The PS powers on and the voltage is adjustable. It will power a 200 ohm load with no problem, but, as the resistance is decreased, the voltage drops until it finally reaches zero. If I remove the two 2N3055 transistors, it does the same thing. I suppose that means the LM317 is bad. I don't currently have another to try replacing it.

Suggestions?

Correction to schematic. It's not a 2N2905, it's an MJE104. Shouldn't matter.

Attachments

Last edited:

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
[EDIT] lost my first sentence somehow
Since you can get a small amount of current over (I presume) the full normal output range, it is unlikely the LM317 is bad.

Try removing the 47k resistor and shorting the 120 ohm resistor at the LM317 input. That will allow you to test the 317, which should be able to deliver up to at least one ampere. Be careful it doesn't overheat, though it is thermally protected and should survive even if it does get really hot.

If the 317 is OK, I would suspect the 2N2905. If its current gain has dropped it would not supply sufficient base drive for the 3055s. However, drop in gain isn't often something that happens unless the base-emitter junction is frequently subjected to reverse breakdown, and I see no way that should be happening in your circuit.

[EDIT 2]: Sorry, I missed your note on the MJE104, but as you say, it shouldn't matter in general terms.

Last edited:

Jack_K

Joined May 13, 2009
Did you measure the resistor?