Nate's treadmill powered belt grinder.

Thread Starter

Rnnate

Joined Apr 26, 2018
15
I just want to thank anyone and everyone ahead of time for the help. So I built a belt grinder for making knives at home in the garage. I was able to find a free treadmill and I am using that to power my belt grinder. There are way too many unneeded pieces and sensors and so forth. I just would like to be able to turn it on and increase or decrease the speed that is it. I don't want to know what my heart rate is or how fast it's going or anything else just the basic on and off and speed control.15247817623188227024686555452518.jpg 15247817623188227024686555452518.jpg 15247818235701599853268102507165.jpg 15247817623188227024686555452518.jpg 15247818235701599853268102507165.jpg 15247818659179128594973358945202.jpg 15247819288331814482322765613153.jpg 15247819649812771830546797877243.jpg 15247820308495199511565764003774.jpg
 

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
8,860
Maybe you could use just this board and supply the voltages as described to control the speed??
upload_2018-4-26_23-49-12.png

This part looks fairly charred though:
upload_2018-4-26_23-50-26.png
 

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
8,860
according to that diagram, only SCR board is needed and potentiometer to adjust speed (value not critical, 5k should do)
It is not clear to me whether the 12V H to L comes from the SCR board or is external to that board. Some checks with a multimeter should sort that out though.
 

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
1,794
:eek::eek::eek:

yes... you cannot just rely on wire colors - specially when there are multiple blue and white wires.

you need to follow them and make sure they are the correct ones. in general power wires are thick, signal wires are thin.

and you need to read and locate correct board. Smoked PCB is not the LC60 Motor Control board.

And you need to follow schematic - wires you needed to use as power (blue and white) are much thicker and connected to LC60 terminals labeled AC1 and AC2

sander.jpglc60.jpg
 

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
4,608
What the tag tells us that is believable is that it is a permanent magnet DC motor. I have a similar looking PMDC motor from a medium duty shredder, but the tag on it says 120 volts AC.

What is clear is that the red and black are the motor drive connections. So probably you don't really need the rest of the stuff if you can provide a DC power supply.
So for a start disconnect the motor from all of that and try driving it from an automotive 12 volt battery. That will allow you to see which wire being positive drives in the direction you want. And running it on 12 volts will also allow you to measure the current required, which will increase along with the voltage supplied. My guess is that the speed you want will come from less than 95 volts DC.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,485
What the tag tells us that is believable is that it is a permanent magnet DC motor. I have a similar looking PMDC motor from a medium duty shredder, but the tag on it says 120 volts AC.

What is clear is that the red and black are the motor drive connections. So probably you don't really need the rest of the stuff if you can provide a DC power supply.
So for a start disconnect the motor from all of that and try driving it from an automotive 12 volt battery. That will allow you to see which wire being positive drives in the direction you want. And running it on 12 volts will also allow you to measure the current required, which will increase along with the voltage supplied. My guess is that the speed you want will come from less than 95 volts DC.
It does not need a P.S. as it is connected directly to the mains, it is a SCR bridge controller directly across the AC input as per the schematics in the link I provided.
It just need AC power and the Pot.
Max.
 

Thread Starter

Rnnate

Joined Apr 26, 2018
15
It does not need a P.S. as it is connected directly to the mains, it is a SCR bridge controller directly across the AC input as per the schematics in the link I provided.
It just need AC power and the Pot.
Max.
So it took me a bit to figure out what a pot was. Regardless i watched a couple videos, went to Frys after work today and bought this, hooked it up to the m60 board and go figure it works like a charm. Now I'm just wondering if there is a way to make it go any faster . Am I Limited to how fast it goes by the potentiometer ? Or do I just need to buy a bigger pulley ? 15249671390834042029927515789235.jpg
 
Top