My resistor gets too hot. What resistor should I be using?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Bloodprince, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Bloodprince

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 16, 2017
    Hi everyone,
    I am working on a project of my own and am completely new to circuitry.
    My project is supplied by 3.7v battery, and 5v from outlet when not running on battery. I am using arduino powerboost 1000c, protrinket 5v, a stepper motor board, two infrared sensors and a push power led switch.

So my problem is that when I turn the device off and it is connected to the usb for charging the battery, the resistor gets hot. If its just connected to the battery alone, and the device is off, it still heats up.

I calculated the resistor I need through http://www.ohmslawcalculator.com/ohms-law-calculator. The voltage is 5v. The current and power I assumed to be 0.4 amp, and 2 watts. So it concluded 12.5 ohms resistor. As I have no background in this, most of my work and progress is through trial and error which got me to this point. I don't know what resistor to use for ohms and watts rating. I have spent lots of money buying various resistors, and driving 33 miles (66 miles round trip) to the closest radio shack to get them same day, while ordering others from online, but they don't seem to solve my problem. I then thought I needed a capacitor, but I tried and that didn't help either, unless I used it wrong, but doubt it.

In the pic the red wire to the right would connect to the end of the resistor, but I don't think this is a picture or schematic error.

Can someone please help me pick the right resistor 1513457698444-1834193189.jpg

2. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    Welcome to AAC!

A block diagram or schematic showing connections would be much better than a photo of your breadboards.