Multiplication problem

Άρης Τσαλαπάτας

Joined Oct 26, 2017
hi all.so i am doing my thesis and my project is to make a circuit that gets values from registers compares them and if according to the values it is square it must find its area and show it in 7 segment display.everything is going great but i am stuck when it comes to finding the area, i know i should use multiplication my teacher told me to use bcd adder and shift registers but i have no idea how the connection would be.i mean the register would take the first 4bit binary number and then what ? how would it connect to the adder and then sent back the signal so it makes the second addition and then the third until it has the final product.thank you

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
This is for a "thesis"?

What kind of hardware is this that you are using? A micrcontroller? An FPGA? Discrete logic?

What does it mean to compare values from registers and for (according to the values it is square). Are these values in the register the width and length of a rectangle and you only need to find the area if the two values are the same (hence a square).

Are the values in the registers limited to 4-bit unsigned integers? How many bits in your result?

Walk through how YOU would take the values in the registers and compute the area.

Άρης Τσαλαπάτας

Joined Oct 26, 2017