MPPT with constant voltage output

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Ande, Sep 8, 2018.

1. Ande

Thread Starter Member

Feb 3, 2017
    I have been studying various MPPT algorithms particularly the P&O and the perturb and observe method. I want to use an MPPT method along with an interleaved boost converter for solar energy conversion. My concern however is that all these methods change the reference voltage of the controller thereby changing the output voltage of the boost. I however need a stable output from the boost, is there any MPPT that can do this? I'm still new at this so please bare with me and my not so smart questions

2. ebp

Feb 8, 2018
    The normal method is to regulate the input voltage, and in doing that the output current must be allowed to change.

The MPP converters I have designed, all but one for battery charging, used three control loops.

When the power available from the PV array is less than that required to meet the load requirement (which is why you need MPPT in the first place), the loop "regulating" the input voltage controlled the PWM, limiting the duty cycle to keep the array at the MPP voltage. Since the output voltage at any given instant in a battery charger is more or less held constant by the battery itself, this means that the output current must be allowed to vary.

A second control loop limited the maximum current delivered to the battery to protect both the battery and the circuitry. If the array were small relative to the battery's ability to accept current, this would not be required. If a controller that does cycle-by-cycle current limiting is used, that function may be entirely adequate for protecting everything, especially with a boost converter from a PV array.

A third control loop precisely regulated the output voltage, provided there was sufficient input power from the array to allow it.