MPLAB X 6.15, 6.20 & PICKIT3

agsuresh

Joined Dec 28, 2023
Windows 7 64 bit.
I am very new to microcontroller programming
I had installed MPLAB X IDE 6.15. It could not detect PICKIT 3. So , assuming 6.20 might do, I installed it. It also could not detect the tool.

So I ran "USB tool connection Diagnostics"

=============================================================================
Initializing examination: Done
Plug-in version: 1.0.8
==============================================================================
OS version: Windows 7 (6.1)
OS architecture: 64-bit
MPLAB X IDE version: 6.20
MPLAB X communications library version: 3.53.00
Bridge library version: 3.47
Bridge library extended version: Not available.
JVM: 1.8.0_345 64-bit
Examine Support Library (or Libraries):
C:\Windows\system32\winusb.dll: Found
Permissions: E R W
Size: 20480 bytes
Loadable: Yes
C:\Windows\system32\drivers\winusb.sys: Found
Size: 41984 bytes
C:\Windows\system32\libusb0.dll: Found
Size: 76384 bytes
Loadable: Yes
C:\Windows\system32\drivers\libusb0.sys: Found
Size: 52832 bytes
Examine Bridge Library:
C:\Windows\system32\USBAccessLink_3_47.dll: ERROR: File not found.
Examine PnP Support Application:
C:\Windows\system32\mchpwinusbdevice64.exe: Found
Size: 798928 bytes
Examine Port Definition File:
C:\Windows\system32\mchpdefport: Found
Size: 46 bytes
Port Definition File Info:
Host: localhost
Port: 30000
Accessing Attached Tools:
Selection: MPLABComm-USB(04D8:03EB),ThirdParty(),MPLABComm-Ethernet()
Retrieving tool list:
Tool list is empty (no recognized tools found).
Releasing examination: Done
_----------------------------------------------------------------
I can find this DLL anywhere in my computer or online
C:\Windows\system32\USBAccessLink_3_47.dll: ERROR: File not found.
could this be the reason why it can't find PICKIT3.

in fact It is not able list any of the USB.
"Retrieving tool list:
Tool list is empty (no recognized tools found)."

I am in fix.