motor driver mosfet heats up

giom18

Joined Apr 16, 2018
Hi,this is my first time using a mosfet based motor driver. I have this motor driver design set up on a breadboard for a bipolar stepper motor. I was able to drive the motor forwards and backwards for about 5 minutes. I realized that two of the P mosfets were getting hot until they became untouchable. Then I turned off the power supply which was I limited to 6V, 0.8A. Then I turned off the power supply until the mosfets were cold. I turned the supply on again but I didn't send any commands (0000) to the motor driver and I realized that the same mosfets were getting hot again. I tried to move the motor forwards or backwards but it would only stall. I would appreciate if someone could help me troubleshoot the design of the motor driver. The mosfets I am using are 2N7000( 200 mA, 60 VOLTS, RDS(on) = 5 ohms), IRZ44N (VDSS = 55V, RDS(on) = 0.022ΩID = 47A) and 4P03L04 (VDS-30V, RDS(on) 4.1mΩ, ID-80A)

The motor I am using is this one https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PNEQKC0/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 Nema 17 Rated current 2.0A & resistance 1.4ohm