Motor control question.

Dermoh

Joined Dec 10, 2017
Hey all.
Just registered on the forum. I'm an electrician but have moved over ibto the security field for the ladt 7 years. Working mostly on cctv, intrusion and fire alarm.

I registered on the forum as I stumbled across it looking for motor control info online. I was asked to have a look at a set of electric cow shed scrapers yesterday that weren't working. The contactor was not engaging when coil was getting energised.
Unfortunately when I went to remove the contactor from the dinnrail in the enclosure to get contactor info it started working before I got to diagnose whether it was the overload, contactor or coil. Once contactor engaged I still had to adjust the oil pressure valve to get the unit working correctly but was fine when I was leaving. I'm waiting for it to stop again and the phone to ring! It got me thinking and I can't really understand the control circuit. Im hoping some of you guys that are more familiar with motor control can explain.

The scrapers are driven via a hydraulic pump. The pump is controlled by a hand off auto switch. On "hand", the pump engages and drives the scrapers for one complete scrape and it returns to its home position. Contactor disengages when limit switch is hit at home position. "Auto" engages an analogue timeclock which starts the same sequence. Again it stops once once scraping unit returns to home position.
The contactor is a 3ph 25amp unit with 24v coil. There is an adjustable overload in the 7-10amp range piggy backing the contactor.
Control circuit is 24v and has an oil level switch and "home" limit switch in ciruit.
My question is this- how can a one direction motor control circuit have a stop limit switch in circuit that will not prevent the motor from re engaging without the use of time delays?

I am preparing for the call back and want to havd my head around the circuitry!

Thanks in advance.
Dermot.