Motor Control & Inverter design

shawanimesh1

Joined Mar 24, 2017
Hi all,
Currently I am working on to design the motor controller for a 3 phase Induction motor.Rating of the motor is 310V, 400A, 172Kw and input frequency 230Hz. It's a AC three phase motor supplied with a battery for automotive application. So first I have to design the three Phase invereter to convert the DC to AC supply and secondly I have to supply 230Hz input frequency for that I have to design VFD.
I have a douth, In the inverter design only VFD can be designed or the VFD should be designed separately whose input will be from the Inverter?

As I am new to the design of inverter and VFD please guide me through the process of designing the circuit for the same?

Thanks in advance..

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Most VFD's have a large capacitor bank fed by a 3ph bridge rectifier on the supply input, this also allows the option of 1ph or 3ph supply.
As stated, if you already have the DC available use this direct.
Depends on the level of DC and the rating of the 3ph motor.
Max.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
Hi all,
Currently I am working on to design the motor controller for a 3 phase Induction motor.Rating of the motor is 310V, 400A, 172Kw and input frequency 230Hz. It's a AC three phase motor supplied with a battery for automotive application. So first I have to design the three Phase invereter to convert the DC to AC supply and secondly I have to supply 230Hz input frequency for that I have to design VFD.
I have a douth, In the inverter design only VFD can be designed or the VFD should be designed separately whose input will be from the Inverter?

As I am new to the design of inverter and VFD please guide me through the process of designing the circuit for the same?

Thanks in advance..

No need to design anything. There are large VFD units that already handle such operation and more.

They are most commonly called 'Spindle Motor Drives' and are use in machining center systems.