Motion detector light with add on switch and extra light

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by jrh65, Feb 1, 2018.

1. jrh65

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 30, 2018
    I am newcomer so this is my 1st post. I am a retired tech looking for a little advise on a home project. I want to install a double LED motion detecting light outside a bedroom but I want to be able to turn it on anytime from inside with a switch. I want to also add on another light to shine in both directions with one motion detector in the middle. I tested out this theory on a test motion detector module in the shop and when I throw the switch it blows the motion detector. I am thinking I need a diode of some type to prevent backflow of current. Am I thinking in the right direction? If so what type or size of a diode, and where to buy it?
    Here is the motion/light I will be using; https://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-...V-p-54844.html?rmmds=myorder&cur_warehouse=CN
    Add on light: https://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-...V-p-30604.html?rmmds=myorder&cur_warehouse=CN

Thanks Bobby

2. ericgibbs

Jan 29, 2010
    hi bobby,
    Welcome to AAC.
    You are working with mains AC, you cannot use a blocking diode in that circuit.

E

3. jrh65

Jan 30, 2018
    Mains AC? Suggestions?

4. ericgibbs

Jan 29, 2010
    hi,
    You could add a mains relay coil across the light operated by the PIR, and its contacts control the second light.
    E

5. jrh65

Jan 30, 2018
    I guess I was not clear in my original question? I can add the extra light by just paralleling the other light, but I need to add a switch to turn it on without the use of the motion detector. I suppose I could use a relay to do that too, but seems like a bit of an overkill to add on a relay and all this would need to be inside a ceiling box outside which would also mean extra wiring from inside too right?