morse code reader with paper tape

uncle yardo

Joined Dec 30, 2014
I like the mfj Morse reader with key input. Problem is it is expensive and doesn't do what I want. I would like to have a 1x40 LCD screen and a built in 9 pin dot matrix printer. I have no idea what to head to select but the point is being as small as possible. It shouldn't be too hard to build a device to slice rolled paper into 1 line strips.

I want a project to play with so I already understand that even the best cw decoders miss a lot. Noise and weak signals and so forth. The problems I perceive is dot matrix heads are loud. But the tape can be for archival and messages can be stored in memory to be printed at the end of transmission. So I have some knowledge of the parallax propeller microcontroller, but none dealing with motors. Basically the roughly 1" wide paper would advance horizontally across the print head. So I'm imagining a p-touch type label maker setup. A rubber friction pad on a pin roller would advance the paper.

So any ideas or a schematic for a 9 pin dot matrix head.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If I understand right you are attempting to make a paper tape punch?
Due to the lack of usage now I would have thought there are more than a few around lying surplus?
Or is this an equivalent in print format?
Max.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Sounds like a decent MCU project for a ham:

Receive morse signal and display text on a LCD screen.
Add-on option: print text on a thermal printer.

uncle yardo

Joined Dec 30, 2014
If I understand right you are attempting to make a paper tape punch?
Due to the lack of usage now I would have thought there are more than a few around lying surplus?
Or is this an equivalent in print format?
Max.