Modifying a device powered by CR2032 batteries to something better

BeardedFrog

Joined Apr 5, 2017
I'd like to start by saying I am not an electrical engineer or anything of the sort. I'm not anywhere near an expert on electronics, which is why I am here. I apologise if this is not the correct place to ask for help with such a question. That being said, hopefully it is and thank you in advance for any assistance.

So I have a device that uses a CR2032 coin style battery. It's a Pokémon Go + if anyone cares or knows what that is here. It uses just one of these batteries, and it drains them very quickly. I am tired of buying these expensive batteries every week for it, and am looking for a better solution. I briefly looked at rechargeable CR2032 batteries but they look to be more trouble than they're worth.

I am thinking of modifying it via wiring in a big rechargeable battery so I don't have to worry about it so much. I tried searching around for some website or place that might just sell a battery pack of sorts that is 3V and rechargeable. Couldn't find one so I moved onto another idea.

I am thinking of using a 5V output battery. These are very easy to find because of phones. I have a small battery pack at home that is designed for charging phones that I don't use anymore. It is too small of capacity to be much use these days for phones, but it would be great for this due to size, and would still have tons of capacity for something like this.

I am looking for the best way to go about doing this properly to avoid bad things happening to the battery or the device. Can I simply solder wires from the device to the battery with a resistor in between to reduce voltage? Should I be concerned about anything other than dropping the 5V voltage to 3V? Is there anything more I might need besides just a simple resistor?

Again thanks in advance for any insight!

JWHassler

Joined Sep 25, 2013