Measure power consumption of a MCU based project

artez

Joined Apr 26, 2023
Hello! I'm new to electronics and I'm building a device based on the PIC16 with XLP. I plan to power it from a battery.

Essentially, the MCU will not run all the time, but mostly be in sleep mode, waking up a few times per minute. I understand how to theoretically calculate power consumption and determine how long the device could run on a battery.

However, what is the way to measure actual power consumption for a low voltage (3V) device over, let's say, an hour? I found this device on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07X3HST7V/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A3G9TPEINXPSG9&th=1 . Would this be something that works? What would you recommend? How do you determine how long your device would work from a battery?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
IMHO, you can infer the power consumption by knowing the capacity of the battery in milliamp-hours and the battery voltage as a function of time. For a low power system, you could take one voltage measurement every 24 hours, and use the discharge characteristics of the battery to compute the power consumption. This could be confirmed over a number of days until the battery reaches its discharged voltage target. I do not see any point in knowing the instantaneous power consumption over short intervals of time.

For example: Suppose the battery begins at 3.7 volts and discharges to 2.8 volts in 36 days. Further suppose the battery capacity is 2800 milliamp hours. Now 36 days is 864 hours, so 2800 mA-hrs = 3.24 mA/hr. So an estimate would be:

\( \cfrac{(3.7+2.8)\text{ volts}}{2}\times3.24\text{ mA}\;\approx\;10.53\text{ mW} \)

It might be interesting to compare this estimate to an actual measurement to see which method best suits your purposes.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
For a reasonable power consumption total with known operation conditions and regular wake modes.